N. Natomas Builds 50 Bikes For 50 Kids

THE NATOMAS BUZZ | @natomasbuzz

More than 200 volunteers helped build 50 bikes for 50 kids in their community Monday, Jan. 21.

The North Natomas Transportation Management Association  recognized 50 local youth and their contributions to the community at the bike-building event at Inderkum High School.

Volunteers consisted of local businesses, community organizations, bike enthusiasts and mechanical novices who came together to  mentor, teach and build bikes for 50 north Natomas youth in the spirit of volunteerism in celebration of Martin Luther King Jr. Day and the National Day of Service.

“I am thrilled to see so many from our community come together to help build bikes for these well-deserving kids,” North Natomas TMA Executive Director Becky Heieck said. “Not only will they receive shiny new bikes, locks and helmets, but we are giving them an experience that encourages both sustainable transportation and a brighter, healthier future.”

Bike recipients were nominated by local youth organizations and schools based on the following pillars of characte – trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring and citizenship.

Fifty teams of volunteers attended workshops hosted by Natomas Bike Shop on how to build a bike in preparation of the event..

“It is our hope that these youth are inspired by the mentorship and generosity of our community and that it has a meaningful impact in their lives,” added Heieck. “Our goal is to build on the success of this year’s event and make it even bigger and better in 2014 and beyond.”  

New bike recipients are: Noah Crockette, Malina Calarco, Roger Andrade, Tushumba Williams Jr (TJ), Divya Seth, Monica Suase, Ashley Woolley, Ralph Relador, Lauren Campbell, Jasmynn Shipp, Alexander Deleon, Analiyah Hernandez, Alania Careathers, Sarah Brink, Matthew Julio, Sheldon Smith, Ghazali Ahmad, Mamie Yang, Santi Medina, Aaryn Pickett, Michael Miller, Jesse Thompson, Stacy Carlton, Charnpreet Singh, Aleijha Hubbard, Maria Garcia, Alexa Monserret, Holly Van Nort, Kobe Van Nort, Christian Williams, Azjiah Sanders, Jordy Castro, Pares Pool, Tabarye Moore-Davis, Charlie Meyer, Vicky Luangsongkhame, Joseph Santos, Janiah McNeil, Jadah McNeil, Jocelinne Guerrero, Sarah Solorio, Reyna Peralta, Jennifer Gomez Buenrrostro, Jessica McNeil, Willie Simpson, Mariana Chaveste, Emilia Thompson, Shelby Chandar, Trinady Mouangsourathsomdy, and Cristal Vasquez.

Speak Your Mind