18 Natomas-area Wrestlers Advance to DIII Tourney


Eighteen Natomas area wrestlers placed at the Tri-County Conference wrestling championships held at Pioneer High School on Saturday.

Inderkum High School had four champions and one champion from Natomas High. All 18 advance to the Sac-Joaquin Division III divisional championships on Friday and Saturday at Whitney High School in Rocklin.

Inderkum finished second overall in the TCC championships. Senior Ruben Escalate won the 126 pound title. Myles Miller (138), Niko Chapman (152) and Issac Mendoza (220) also won individual league championships for the Tigers.

Competing in the final season in the TCC, Natomas sophomore Elijah Montue won the 145 pound title for the Nighthawks.

Others that advance to divisionals next weekend are, for Inderkum: Arron Castanerer (106), Andrew Naraja (113), Nemo Chapman (132), John Huyhn (145), Able Cardenes (160), Alex Boston (172), Andres Tamayo (182), Josh Graham (195) and Ken Pettis (285).

The four other qualifiers for Natomas High are Jamil Podana (113), Eric Mier (120), Vicente Gonzalez (220) and Juan Ramirez (285).


Speak Your Mind